Jargon Buster

Search for glossary terms (regular expression allowed)
Begin with Contains Exact termSounds like


All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Term Definition
Key Stages

The different stages of education that a child passes through:

Early Years Foundation Stage – age 0-5 (Early years setting, Nursery and Reception);

Key Stage one – age 5-7 (Years 1 and 2);

Key Stage two – age 7-11(Years 3,4, 5 and 6);

Key Stage three – age 11-14 (Years 7, 8 and 9);

Key Stage four – age 14-16 (Years 10 and 11);

Key Stage five – age 16-18 (Sixth form).

Key workers

Someone who works with children and families to help them get the best education and social care services and make sure services work together.